CarterMatt Awards 2015: An introduction, nomination schedule, and more

Awards -Welcome to the CarterMatt Awards! This is the fourth straight year that we have chosen to spend the month of December looking at some of the best that the world of television has to offer, but we’re doing it in a slightly different way than you are seeing awards shows like the Golden Globes and the SAG Awards do it. The voting is entirely done by CarterMatt readers from our staff’s list of nominees, and we try to look at honoring shows (and the people affiliated with them) in different ways.

For example, is there a show you really like that somehow always gets snubbed? There’s a category for that, just like we also recognize reality TV, or the people who actually make some of your favorite shows, and some of your favorite moments on them. We’ve loved some of the passion and discussion that comes from this over the years, since it’s a nice way to look back at everything great that happened in TV in the past 12 months while also looking ahead to the future.

There are a few new categories this year, and there will be one set of nominees announced daily! Just so you are completely in the know, here is the full schedule.

Friday, December 11 Underrated Show – Results

Saturday, December 12 Underrated Actor – Results

Sunday, December 13 Underrated Actress – Results

Monday, December 14 Top Actor – Results

Tuesday, December 15 Top Actress – Results

Wednesday, December 16 Best Fanbase – Results

Thursday, December 17 – Reality Star – Results

Friday, December 18 Favorite Showrunner – Results

Saturday, December 19 – Breakout Star – Results

Sunday, December 20 Best New Show – Results

Monday, December 21 Most Surprising Moment

Tuesday, December 22 Show of the Year

As for results, we’ll be doubling up on the announcements following the Christmas holiday. These articles will be posted each day at 3:00 p.m. Eastern time (12:00 p.m. Pacific).

Saturday, December 26 – Results for Underrated Show / Underrated Actor

Sunday, December 27 – Results for Underrated Actress / Best Actor

Monday, December 28 – Results for Best Actress / Best Fanbase

Tuesday, December 29 – Results for Reality Star / Top Showrunner

Wednesday, December 30 – Results for Breakout Star / Best New Show

Thursday, December 31 – Results for Most Surprising Moment / Show of the Year

When it comes to rules, there’s no limit to how many times you can vote. We do not have any particular prize that we hand out to the winner, but they do have the recognition and love from so many people who appreciate their work, including us!

Stay tuned over the next few weeks, and happy awards season! You can also sign up here to get some more TV scoop on everything we cover, sent right to you via our CarterMatt Newsletter.

Love TV? Be sure to like CarterMatt on Facebook for more updates!