2012 ACAs: Lauren Alaina, Jason Aldean, Lady Antebellum among winners

ACAsAre there too many country music awards shows? Definitely, but we nonetheless had another one Monday night in the American Country Awards over on Fox. This is a show voted by the fans, and for anyone who is an “American Idol” fan, this is always a big one considering that the show is already represented well.

Are we a little confused about how Lauren Alaina is nominated for Best New Artist this year, especially since Scotty McCreery won this trophy last year and their albums released weeks apart in 2011? A little bit, but you’re better off not trying to thinking about the intricacies of the show’s rules. Instead, let’s just talk about some of the winners. Since the show is still ongoing as of this writing, this will be updated as the show goes on.

Group of the Year – Lady Antebellum, who likely have so many of these awards at this point now that they don’t even know what to do with them.

New Artist of the Year – Lauren Alaina, which was no surprise given that Scotty presented her the award.

Breakthrough Artist of the Year – Jake Owen, and yes, there is a difference between “New” and “Breakthrough” artists.

Touring Artist of the Year  – Jason Aldean, who is surely deserving considering that he is a touring juggernaut.

Female Artist of the Year – Carrie Underwood, which is some more great brand synergy for Fox.

Single for a Female Artist – Miranda Lambert, “Over You.”

Music Video of the Year for a Group – Little Big Town, “Pontoon.”

Artist of the Year – Luke Bryan, who actually won a total of nine trophies on the night. Quite a haul, right?

What do you think about the winners? If you want to read some more news related to “American Idol,” you can do so over here.

Photo: Fox

Love TV? Be sure to like Matt & Jess on Facebook for more updates!