‘American Idol’ notes: All about Phillip Phillips, ‘Home,’ and the new album

We are not even going to pretend this time around as though we have some news from the world related to “American Idol” about anything other than Phillip Phillips. Why? Because the news we have on him is really just too juicy to pass up.

First things first, we have to share the great news that his song “Home” has been officially certified double platinum, and with that he has done something that no other winner in the history of the show has done with a coronation song. Both Kelly Clarkson’s “A Moment Like This” and David Cook’s “Time of My Life” each made it past the million-download mark, but neither one of them had the same sort of staying power as this song has. Major props have to go to Jimmy Iovine here, for picking a song that could actually work for Phillip as something more than just what he would sing in the event that he won the show.

“Home” will be just one track featured on his debut album “The World From the Side of the Moon,” which will hit stores just in time for Black Friday on November 19. There are some interesting-sounding tracks on here, and hopefully they will touch on all of the music genres that he has expressed some sort of appreciation for over the past year:

1. Man on the Moon

2. Home

3. Gone, Gone, Gone

4. Hold On

5. Tell Me a Story

6. Get Up Get Down

7. Where We Came From

8. Drive Me

9. Wanted Is Love

10. Can’t Go Wrong

11. A Fool’s Dance

12. So Easy

There will also be a deluxe edition of the album that includes a song called “Hazel,” one entitled “Wicked Game” that we are guessing is a cover of the classic track, and a live version of “Home.” It will be released the same day. Plus, there will be a version sold exclusive at Target that also has a song called “Take Me Away” coupled with “Thriller,” which was his audition song from this past season.

Love TV? Be sure to like Matt & Jess on Facebook for more updates!