Saturday Night Live to continue airing nationally with Ryan Gosling / JAY-Z premiere

Ryan GoslingWhen Saturday Night Live does premiere on NBC later this fall, it is going to continue a model established previously of airing at the same time all over America. This was an experiment that began with the show’s final episodes this past spring; they aired at 11:30 p.m. Eastern, 10:30 p.m. Central, 9:30 p.m. Mountain, and then at 8:30 p.m. Pacific. Granted, this is still excluding Alaska and Hawaii, but all things considered that’s not so bad. (For those wondering, the Mountain and Pacific shows will repeat at their standard 11:30 time for those of you who just so happen to miss them.)

The first episode of the season is hosting by Ryan Gosling and with musical guest JAY-Z — it feels pretty obvious that they will be the first beneficiary of this change, and we imagine that many more will also reap some rewards. This was a show that already had plenty of appeal to many prospective hosts out there, and with the ratings being what they are coupled with the overall relevancy, we have a hard time thinking that this is ultimately going to change all that much. This show will continue to dominate in just about every way that you could possibly want for it to, and that should raise some excitement for whatever is coming up down the road.

In the end, the move to air across both coasts at the same time is done with spoilers in mind more so than anything else. The show does want to effectively do what it can to ensure viewers get a chance to watch it without spoilers ruining the element of surprise, especially when the show is relying heavily on these in order to draw more buzz.

Saturday Night Live has not announced some of their hosts for the remainder of upcoming weeks ahead this fall, but we absolutely do imagine that this is some news that is going to be coming up soon in the weeks ahead. The same also could be said about some of the new not-ready-for-primetime players (though ironically, the show does better than most primetime shows these days) — we’re assuming that there will be at least one or two new faces in the cast this year, mostly because this is the sort of thing that does often happen and it should. You do need to continue to get fresh creative voices on a show like this!

What do you think about these new decisions when it comes to Saturday Night Live? Be sure to share some more of your thoughts on the show in the comments!

Meanwhile, head over to the link here to secure some additional news on Donald Trump, but in an interesting way as a former cast member describes what it was like working with him on the show. (Photo: NBC.)

Love TV? Be sure to like Matt & Jess on Facebook for more updates!