‘American Idol’ notes: Lauren Alaina, Jessica Sanchez, and James Durbin

For our Friday edition of “American Idol” notes, we’re going to start things off by talking about Lauren Alaina — and from there, we’re going to get into some exciting news about some other music from James Durbin and all of the season 11 stars.

Lauren’s new single – For her third single off of her new album “Wildflower” (following “Like My Mother Does” and “Georgia Peaches”), the season 10 runner-up is going to be busting out the talents of Carrie Underwood … as a co-writer. The song is called “Eighteen Inches,” and was written by the country superstar alongside the likes of Kelley Lovelace and Ashley Gorley.

In a statement, here’s what Lauren had to say about the opportunity to have a song from Carrie on the disc:

“It’s amazing to have an artist like Carrie Underwood, whom I look up to so much write my single,” beamed Alaina. “Kelley, Ashley, and Carrie all did a wonderful job writing such an incredible song. I feel so honored to be able to bring to life the beautiful story within the song.”

“Eighteen Inches” is set to be released to the radio on July 16.

James Durbin’s future – For those of you who are curious about James Durbin’s future ambitions, it sounds like he is going to be getting back into the studio pretty quickly to work on his follow-up to “Memories of a Beautiful Disaster.” In speaking with Life Is Awesome, the season 10 rocker said that September is the target date to work on some new material once his tour is wrapped up:

“We are going to start working on the next record in September. We’re all bringing together our song ideas and jamming on new things. As far as the style of music, I’d love to say what I’d love to do, but I don’t want to jinx it. That all can change once we get in the studio. If the energy’s flowing, and that’s where’s its going, then that’s where it will end up.”

Recording quickly is the smartest move James could make at this point. Most former “American Idol” contestants see a plummet in sales after the first record, and the key is to get it out while people still remember you.

The season 11 highlights disc – We wrote a little bit earlier about some individual albums that are coming out on July 3, and now we have some further information about the disc featuring songs from every member of the top 10.

The choices for Phillip, Joshua, Jessica, Deandre, Elise, Erika, and Heejun are all absolutely perfect — and considering that makes up 70% of the album, that’s not bad. With that being said, we still don’t know why Hollie is not singing “Bleeding Love,” Colton doesn’t have “Piano Man,” and Skylar has a Miranda Lambert track rather than “Stay With Me.”

Be sure to check out the full track lasting here below:

  1. “It’s a Man’s Man’s World” – Joshua Ledet
  2. “I Will Always Love You” – Jessica Sanchez
  3. “Volcano” – Phillip Phillips
  4. “Gunpowder & Lead” – Skylar Laine
  5. “Master Blaster” – Deandre Brackensick
  6. “The Power of Love” – Hollie Cavanagh
  7. “New York State of Mind” – Erika Van Pelt
  8. “Whole Lotta Love” – Elise Testone
  9. “Everything” – Colton Dixon
  10. “A Song For You” – Heejun Han

Can’t get enough “American idol” news?  Be sure to check out some of our other stories about your favorite singers.

Photo: Fox

Love TV? Be sure to like Matt & Jess on Facebook for more updates!