‘American Idol’ notes: Scotty McCreery, Kris Allen, and James Durbin

Scotty: already working the radio.

Now that we are getting into the middle of the week, we are starting to get hit by all sorts of “American Idol”-related news. With that in mind, we’ve done our best to condense as many of the headlines as we can for your reading pleasure.

Scotty’s marketing strategy – Monday marked the first day that Scotty McCreery’s “Water Tower Town” impacted radio, and we were really rather impressed with how the season 10 alum chose to promote the song and thank the radio stations that picked it up.

In some new posts on Twitter, Scotty personally thanked a number of country stations for adding his song, and even included their own account handles in on it for good measure. Note to all other aspiring artists — if you want to get in good with radio stations, this is the way to do it! While this certainly doesn’t guarantee that “Water Tower” will be a hit, Scotty’s showing quite a bit of intelligence here for a guy who is still a teenager.

Kris Allen’s track listing – On the Kris Allen front, we also have something that involves new music — in this case, the complete track list for the season 8 champ’s sophomore debut “Thank You Carmellia.”

Allen posted the entire list in a series of posts on his Twitter account Monday:

1. Better With You
2. The Vision of Love
3. My Weakness
4. Out Alive
5. Monster
6. Blindfolded
7. Teach Me How Love Goes
8. Rooftops
9. Leave You Alone
10. Loves Me Not (feat.Meiko)
11. You Got A Way

It’s hard to judge a song based on title alone, but we’re probably the most excited for “Out Alive” and “Rooftops” based simply on the melodic possibilities we have floating around in our head for them.

James begins rehearsals – James Durbin fans know already that he is going to be performing on Thursday night’s results show, and the rocker is already doing his best to get prepared.

For an example of what James is currently up to, all you have to do is take a look at this post. Should you be excited? Definitely.

Since we love to always put on a video for everyone to watch at some point in the “notes,” we’ll close with a new performance from Lauren Alaina at a CMT “Listen Up” event. (Yes, it is ironic that this is also the name of Haley Reinhart’s upcoming album hitting stores May 22.)

Photo: Fox


Love TV? Be sure to like Matt & Jess on Facebook for more updates!